Interview with Melissa – Ottevanger’s people

Melissa – Ottevanger Moerkapelle

“I make sure that our participation in trade fairs runs smoothly”

Marketing employee

10 Years


Can you introduce yourself?
Hello! My name is Melissa and I am 44 years old. I was born in The Hague, after which I grew up in Zoetermeer. However, since 20 years I have been living in Moerkapelle, within walking distance of Ottevanger. I have been married for 21 years, and I have 3 daughters and two dogs.

In my spare time I like to exercise, which I do about three times a week. I also like to walk in the woods with my dogs. When I got more time off, I really like to go on holiday. The best holiday for me is to go camping in Norway, I feel really relaxed there.

For how long have you been working at Ottevanger?
Before I started working at Ottevanger, I worked for 13 years as a clinical chemical analyst in a laboratory at a hospital. Here I took blood samples from patients, after which I examined the blood in the laboratory. After that, I stumbled into marketing by accident. The marketing manager at the time was looking for someone to support her and I was ready for something new.

I have been working at Ottevanger in the marketing department for 10 years now. We work in marketing for all companies within the Triott group, including Ottevanger. We only had three companies in the Triott Group at the time and have grown rapidly since then. We now work for 8 different operating companies.

What are your tasks and responsibilities?
Before COVID-19, we participated in about 20 to 25 fairs per year, in countries all over the world. Due to the pandemic, our sales managers were unable to travel and no trade fairs took place. My main task within the team is to organize and coordinate our stands at these fairs. Because the trade fairs were cancelled, I focused on other work within the marketing department. Luckily there was plenty to do, so my working days filled up easily. However, I am happy that the trade fairs are starting up again.

This year for example, we will participate at the Victam International in Utrecht. A large part of the Triott Group will be present there, which always means a lot of work for me. These are the best projects for me to work on. I discuss with the sales team about the approach of the fair, after which I arrange the stand construction and hotel rooms for the sales team. Sometimes it is also possible that I have to arrange some things for customers who come by.

In addition to arranging these fairs, I am actually quite flexible within the marketing department. For example, I read along with texts, I collect information for content, I monitor downloads, I order and keep an eye on promotional material and I am involved in corporate clothing.

What does a working day normally look like?
I work every day from 7 to 12 and of course start with a cup of coffee. Then I go through my own mail and the marketing mail, which often result in action points. In general it depends on the delusion of the day.

As a result, I never really have a ‘standard’ working day. Sometimes I’m busy preparing for a trade fair, other times I’m checking newsletters or arranging company clothing. My previous job also had a lot of variety, something I really appreciate about my job.

What do you like so much about your job?
Since I work for the Triott Group, I work for all companies within the group. As a result, I have contact with many colleagues who are at the other locations. This makes my work very fun and varied.

Do you have anything left to say to all the readers?
I am very happy with the Triott Group and with Ottevanger. It is a great employer with an informal no-nonsense working atmosphere and short lines of communication. After 10 years I still enjoy going to work every day.